BET and Beverly Bond, CEO founder and creator of Black Girls Rock!™ announced that this year’s Black Girls Rock!™ will be broadcast on BET (DStv channel 129) on Thursday, 20 September at 20:00.

The 2018 Black Girls Rock!™ celebrants are multiple-award winning musician Janet Jackson (Rock Star Award); Academy Award®-nominated actress and GRAMMY® Award-winning singer Mary J. Blige (Star Power Award); world-renowned dancer and choreographer and Artistic Director Emerita of Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater Judith Jamison (Living Legend Award); International Supermodel and Philanthropist Naomi Campbell (Black Girl Magic Award); Emmy Award-winning writer, creator, actress and dedicated LGBTQ advocate Lena Waithe (Shot Caller Award); and founder of the groundbreaking ‘Me Too’ movement Tarana Burke (Community Change Agent Award).

The dynamic, three-time NAACP Award-winning Black Girls Rock!™ on BET celebrates women throughout the diaspora by shining a light on the many accomplishments and contributions of influential Black women and girls.

This year’s performers include Yolanda Adams, Tamia, H.E.R., Victory Boyd and Alvin Ailey Dance Theater’s Jacqueline Green. The 2018 Black Girls Rock!™ Awards will also feature special appearances by Ava DuVernay, Ciara, Misty Copeland, Naturi Naughton, Storm Reid and Niatia Kirkland. The 2018 Black Girls Rock!™ whonouronor the legendary ‘Queen of Soul’ Aretha Franklin in a star-studded tribute fit for a Queen!

“Each year I’m humbled to gather and celebrate Black women’s excellence, intelligence and savoir-faire. This year we are honouring women who are the Queens of their respective industries and celebrating the memory of our forever Queen of Soul, Aretha Franklin, who left us with classics and an example of how to take on life with resilience and grace. I am grateful to BET for helping to elevate the Black Girls Rock!™ mission and for being our partners in exalting the royalty of Black women and girls,” said Black Girls Rock!™ CEO, Founder and Creator Beverly Bond.

The 2018 Black Girls Rock Awards will be broadcast in association with Dawn on Thursday, 20 September 2018 at 20:00.